## St. Mary's County Government

## COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

## SB 234 - Housing and Community Development – Homeless Shelter Certification Program - Establishment

## **OPPOSE**

February 4, 2025

The Honorable Brian J. Feldman, Chairman Education, Energy and the Environment Committee 2 West Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

RE: SB 234 - Housing and Community Development - Homeless Shelter Certification Program - Establishment

Dear Chairman Feldman:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County <u>OPPOSE</u> Senate Bill 234 Housing and Community Development - Homeless Shelter Certification Program - Establishment which is being heard in the Education, Energy and the Environment Committee.

We request an unfavorable report on Senate Bill 234. We do not support the introduction of this legislation and do not believe it would benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. Thank you for your consideration as well as your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

Janu A Jy James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/tr T:/Consent/2025/023

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey

Delegate Matthew Morgan

Delegate Brian Crosby

Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr.

Commissioner Eric Colvin

Commissioner Michael Hewitt

Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow

David Weiskopf, County Administrator

David Yingling, Deputy County Administrator

Buffy Giddens, County Attorney

John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney

P.O. BOX 653 \* CHESAPEAKE BUILDING \* 41770 BALDRIDGE ST., LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 \*1350 \* FAX 301.475.4935 \* <u>www.stmaryscountymd.gov</u> \* CSMC@STMARYSCOUNTYMD.GOV